Beginners Articles

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I came here looking for help and I'm a total newbie when it comes to ponds. How about adding beginners articles too, where people like me can find out how to get started. Here are my ideas that I would find very helpful. Sorry if they seem too basic, but I found it very helpful to search online for the answers
  • How often should I feed fish?
  • Do I feed fish in winter?
  • How do I find a pond leak?
  • How often should I clean a pond pump?
  • Can I use tap-water in a pond? (I found the answer to this here thanks to your help).
  • How many fish can I add to a pond?
Newbies like me would find this really helpful if someone was able to write them.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
6 A
Country
United States
Welcome! Some of the answers depend on what type of fish you're keeping.
*Most of us do not feed until the water temperature is reliable above 50-55 degrees.
*I clean my pumps regularly...they have pre-filters on them and I can visually se when there is debris build up on them.
* I use tap water, but add a dechlorinator.
* I have koi, so provide 500 gallons per koi.
* When I begin feeding my koi, I feed once in the evening. It is recommended to feed them lightly several times a day, but I don't.

I haven't had a pond leak, but would look for wet / damp spots in the ground around the pond. Waterfalls are a common place for leaks, as are plumbing joints / seals.

Hope this helps - and again, welcome !!!

tbendl

T
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Mykee, the reason there aren't clear cut answers is there are so many variables. Size of the pond and depth will determine how many and what kind of fish you can keep. What kind of fish you have determines how often you feed them. Where you live determines your winter regime and what type of pump determines how often it will need to be maintained.