Circular formal pond under construction

Reaction score
Hello all . I am new here and wanted to post the progress of my new pond. I am a carpenter so I have become creative and handy over the years , I am also an avid gardener and i keep a saltwater fish tank so I have experience in somewhat related fishkeeping . I would like any comments , suggestions and tips on what I am doing..

This pond is about 6 ft across and 4 ft deep , I am attaching it to the inside of an an old pool wall from previous owner. I am not sure how many gallons it will be. It is in full sun right now but I might create a trellice over it for shade. I would like to put a few Koi in it and some plants . Here is the construction of the walls, It is reinforced with mesh and rebar . I used 40 bags of concrete to fill these forms. I did not pour a floor for it. I will use a pond liner.
Stephen

Attachments

• fishpondsept09 2(Large).jpg
    fishpondsept09 2(Large).jpg
    154.3 KB · Views: 646
  • fish pond sept 09 (Large) (Large).jpg
    fish pond sept 09 (Large) (Large).jpg
    155 KB · Views: 654
Reaction score
This is what the project looks like at the moment. I have poured the concrete and the walls are 3 1/2 ft tall. I have used forms of 1/2" rock wall used for showers and bathrooms and mortared bricks in about 3 ft. radius lengths. This way I will tuck the liner under the cap and I will be able to remove the links if repairs are ever needed on the liner. Pics here show some detail .

Attachments

• pondprofile (Large).jpg
    pondprofile (Large).jpg
    129.7 KB · Views: 579
  • cap (Large).jpg
    cap (Large).jpg
    141.7 KB · Views: 571
  • rock wall (Large).jpg
    rock wall (Large).jpg
    152.3 KB · Views: 571
  • pond2 (Large).jpg
    pond2 (Large).jpg
    136.1 KB · Views: 601
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
6a
Country
United States
That looks awesome. Great job on the build. Keep us updated with your progress.

Reaction score