Concrete House on a Pond?

Reaction score
Guys,

I am an architect and i have been planning to have my own pond house for a while. But where i live(Turkey), land is very expensive and water is scarce.

So, i thought why waste some of the land with only a house? Why not have the water actually under the house. This way:

1- More water in my small land.
2- Less evaporation because of the shading the house provides.
3- How cool that would feel !

It is going to be made of concrete and it should be EPDM linered. But, is it possible to efficiently line the foundation?

For those who don't know how a concrete foundation looks, i did little sketching.

a3qmIWo.jpg

2oMQNzR.jpg

There should be some risks, that i am probably not aware of. What might those be? Mosquitos maybe? My wife is very much concerned about mosquitos.

By the way, this is not a koi pond. This is a fishing pond.

Thank you.

addy1

water gardener / gold fish and shubunkins
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
Sounds neat, looks neat. Mosquitos will be taken care of with the fish in the pond.

How about humidity? what will the constant moisture do to the bottom of the house structure?

and welcome to our group!

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
7a
Country
United States
LOL Yes you are an architect, but that will cost a fortune for those peirs and if your are lucky, you wont need spread footer peirs
Here where I live that'd be a about a 2mil dollar home or more

Reaction score
Addy bro, what concerns me is the humidity , the pond will cause in the air, which will probably be depressing for us in the summer. But i don't know if a pond can actually make the air in the house humid. Let's consider a lake. Does it feel more humid near a lake?