Fish Population control

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
8a
Country
Austria
Hi Guys,

I'm in the middle of planning for a new pond, and would like your advice on fish control...

At first i was going to stock some Koi in addition to the goldfish i have now, but after reading around on here a bit i've found out that they eat the plants, so i've decided to stick to the Goldies.

My question though is how to control the breeding. In the pond i have now i started off with 3 Goldfish and now have about 100+ because they bred. The population seems to be stable now - i'm guessing they're eating any eggs? - but the new pond is going to be 8 times the size, and i don't want them breeding to large numbers.

I've read a bit about spawning mops, but i've no experience of them. My other idea was a fish that would eat eggs but i have no idea which one would be suitable.

Any ideas?

cheers,

Andy.

addy1

water gardener / gold fish and shubunkins
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
My pond in arizona is around 14k gallons, I put in some goldies a few shubunkins (10-12 years ago) and it has never gotten over populated. My pond keeper guy says the numbers are still stable, they must eat their eggs and young.

Reaction score
I don't have a problem with the fish over populating in my pond either. I watch as a group of fish spawning are followed by a group of fish eating the freshly laid eggs and when I had seen a group of fry they don't last. For all the eggs being laid and fish hatching very few survived.

fishin4cars

True friends just call me Larkin
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8a