Fist time pond builder. Would like for you guys to check my progress

Reaction score
Country
Canada
How's it going guys, I created my first container pond about a month and a half ago. I have some hornworth at the bottom, with 6 water hyacinth plants and a water lettuce. I placed an airstone in the pond last week because I intend to put fish in it very soon. I've provided pictures to help.

This is my first try at this, and I want to make sore I'm doing it right so far. Over the course of the week, the water level drops a couple of inches. I refill the pond once a week with water, water from the hose but I've left out for a week to declorinate it.

There was a snail that would stay near the surface, but since I've put the airstone in, the snail disappeared.

I do intend to put fish, comet goldfish or minnows, but I am unsure if my pond is capable of supporting life yet. I know not a lot of shade is being provided.

I can use any tips and advice, and I look for to reading the feedback.

Attachments

• 20160701_202604.jpg
    20160701_202604.jpg
    195.9 KB · Views: 359
  • 20160701_202718.jpg
    20160701_202718.jpg
    260 KB · Views: 290
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Your pond is adorable - but it appears to be very small. Please consider the size if you add fish. We have comet goldfish that are 6 - 8 inches long. A couple of minnows would probably be a better choice.

addy1

water gardener / gold fish and shubunkins
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
Nice pond Welcome to our group!

Like said above I would stick with minnows, that is a small pond

Reaction score
How's it going guys, I created my first container pond about a month and a half ago. I have some hornworth at the bottom, with 6 water hyacinth plants and a water lettuce. I placed an airstone in the pond last week because I intend to put fish in it very soon. I've provided pictures to help.