Hi all!

Reaction score
Newbie here. Have had a pond for years , but I am a slow learner I guess. Trial and error are my middle names. Finally seem to have a pond setup that works. Will need to expand in the spring due to a population explosion. About 18 baby shubunkins suddenly appeared this fall. My water is well water and seems to be perfect for the fish. Four frogs at last count.
I do have a question if someone can help. Have read that fall cleanout should remove any leaves and vegetable matter from bottom of pond. Do my frogs not need that to hibernate??? I fear I will scoop out the frogs with the leaves. any help would be appreciated....Kevin.

addy1

water gardener / gold fish and shubunkins
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
welcome_1.gif

I have tons of frogs, I always scoop out the leaves that fall in and any rotting plant matter on the bottom of the pond. The frogs seem to know what to do to survive.

Reaction score
Thanks for the reply! I will reluctantly do this. I found a couple dead frogs last spring and am hesitant still. del Ray Beach sounds warm. Merry Christmas , Happy Holidays , or whatever might apply! Kev.

morewater

President, Raccoon Haters International
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
5b
Country
Canada
Like Addy says, get rid of the sunken debris as it will decay over the winter and deplete the oxygen. At the very least, get a heater to keep a hole in the ice for gas exchange.

You paid for the fish, frogs come and go. Worry about the fish, not the frogs.

Reaction score
Like Addy says, get rid of the sunken debris as it will decay over the winter and deplete the oxygen. At the very least, get a heater to keep a hole in the ice for gas exchange.

You paid for the fish, frogs come and go. Worry about the fish, not the frogs.