High ph...

Reaction score
I can't get my ph down. I'm always in the high 9 range. All the other tests are perfect, ammonia, phosphate, nitrites I have a new API master test kit. My pond is around 3400 gallons, we get enough rain so I seldom need to top it off with municipal water which tests out around 7.5. We had 3 inches in about 12 hours and it didn't make a difference. I've even tried a slow muriatic acid drip for several days with no real change. The pond is lined with granite with river wash on the bottom which has limestone in it. The waterfall has a limestone spillway and the stream has two limestone mirror stones. Is that what's keeping my high ph? I have Shubunkins which seam to be healthy, they've been busy making little ones all summer.

Thanks...

Meyer Jordan

Tadpole
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
9a
Country
United States
Limestone Is highly insoluble in water. It is what is in the water that may or may not disassociate the limestone at the surface of the rock. For instance, if he CO2 level is high, then carbonic acid is present at a sufficient level to cause dissassociation.
Are the fish OK? Are the aquatic plants growing as expected? If the answer is yes to both of these questions, then I question your pH Test kit. Goldfish will begin to show signs of stress at a pH of 9 and there are very few aquatic plants that will thrive at a pH level this high.

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
5b
Country
United States
My ph has always been that high and I don't try to lower it cause I was told that coul;d cause more harm to the fish than the steady high ph

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
5b
Country
United States
9 is high, but Rollies wonder garden stated in the opening post that their pH was in the high 9's. That is almost 10 times more alkaline than yours.

I really don't know exactly how high mine is, I say "9.0" cause that's the very last reading on my test card (Pondcare Master Liquid Test Kit)