How deep for 5"-7" Goldfish(Ryukin and Shubunkin)

Reaction score
My friend has 4 or 5 large goldfish and she's moving and can't take them. They all have names and are well loved, so she wants a good home for them. They are mine if I set up the right pond for them.

How wide, how deep for these guys?

2 are 5" ryukins and the others are 7" Shubunkins. Expensive fish I'm sure. About a year old and just gorgeous. so healthy and such.

Mmathis

TurtleMommy
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
Royal, I was advised to have at least 3 feet of depth if your fish will be outside year-round. They need to be able to go deep to avoid the freezing during winter and the heat during summer [depending on where you live, of course], and to be able to avoid predators. I just re-read your intro, and weren't you planning for a 15" depth and around 50 gals? Not an expert -- I'm a newbie, too -- but that's not very deep and not really enough water for the fish you are inheriting.

So you have an aviary? Cool! I love birds and want to build a "bird" feature into my waterfall. Is it an enclosed area and how big is it? Post pictures if you haven't already.

addy1

water gardener / gold fish and shubunkins
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
My goldfish shubunkin pond is 5 foot deep, keeps them cool in the summer warm in the winter, well un frozen lol, would not call it warm.

Make a nice size pond so they have room to grow and swim, and they will have babies lol

sissy

sissy
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States
With were you live I agree with addy may want at least 4 or 5 feet .safer that way cooler in the summer and warmer in the winter and less work that way .How big is the pond they are in now ,that would give you a clue if she has had them awhile .Remember they will get bigger and need room to grow .Sounds like you are getting a great deal too .She giving you the pond equipment also .

Reaction score