How does a bog work?

Reaction score
Hello all, pond newbie here.

I have what amounts to a large birdbath with a waterfall. After one summer with it (and a few goldfish), I am interested in making it deeper, probably no deeper than 24" due to local zoning rules.

I've read about people putting in bogs as part of the water filtration system. I tried to search on the word "bog", but got a message that "bog" is not a searchable term. (?)

Anyway, I'm interested in understanding how a bog works, how it's hooked up to the pond, and probably a bunch of other things I don't know yet that I don't know.

Could someone please give me a basic explanation of how a bog works?

Thanks!

Reaction score
Thanks, Addy. Do you mind that I still have a few questions? Remember, I'm a beginner, and I've never seen one of these in action.

1. Is the concept to pump pond water into the bog? How do you get it from the pond to the bog? (Just confirming...your post doesn't actually say what the bog pipe is connected to.) (Or at least I didn't see it.)

2. Do you draw from the bottom of the pond? Is there a recommended flow rate? It would seem to be relatively slow, given the small spout you have from your bog to the pond. Do you actually pump water back into the pond, or does it just overflow from the bog? Does it overflow from more than that one spot?

3. What role does the relative elevation of the bog to the pond play? The spot I'm considering is slightly uphill from my pond. Does this matter?

4. Is it possible/recommended to pump bog water to a waterfall back into the pond?

5. Do you still run pond water through a filter or skimmer? (in our case it goes from the skimmer to the waterfall.)

6. Does this take the place of a biological filter? We have one of those bags with a videotape-like medium in our waterfall.

Sorry if I'm being obtuse. I'll need to know all these answers (and more!) if I am to convince DH that this is a good idea.

Thanks for your help!

addy1