Koi jumped out

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
6a to 6b
Country
United States
Hi. I am new to this, during the evening one of my koi jumped out of the pond. I don't know for how long. It was raining however. When I fou d her, I assumed she was dead but after a bit I saw her mouth moving for air. I put her in the smaller pond to see if she will survive. I don't know what to do for her and am upset she is. My favorite one,completely white. Is there any advice to help her. She coughed out some sand. My koi never jumped out before. I put this colorization stuff in that said will prevent uv rays and keep the water cooler in the summer. Could it be that? I think I am going to filter it out anyway.

Smaug

God makes perfect. I just dug the hole
Reaction score
Country
United States
If they never reacted this way before and after yiu did some change then it's a safe bet that it was the change that did it. I would never use dye in a pond with fish,uv doesn't need controlled and the only thing the dye is good for is to control algae which is easy enough to control otherwise. I hope your koi survives. Tell us more about your pond please.

sissy

sissy
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States
Is it spawning time for your fish ,you may need some type of net .I know some koi do not start breeding until they are a couple of years old .Make sure the koi has plenty of air in the water also .

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
6a to 6b
Country
United States