Koi Pond newbie.

Reaction score
Hi

I just moved into my new house and the previous owner had built a beautiful raised koi pond. Unfortunately he took all his pump and filtration gear with them when they moved.

So as a newbie I tried to use the internet and common sense to buy some gear to get it running. Base on the volume of 2500 gallons, I brought the evolution aqua 1000 and a lotus green genie 48000 that has 2x 25watt U.V lamps. After running the system for a week it cleared the pond of I would say 80% of the algae and was pretty clear. So I decided to purchase my koi, 10 no. between 3-5 inches. I clean the filter out weekly and on my third week I noticed it's was starting to fail on clearing the algae. Iv double checked everything. It would seem that the U.V is not doing the job although it's all working fine.

I have a flow rate valve on the U.V inlet, so tried slowing it down so the water is passing the uv for slightly longer. Just waiting on the results.

Am I missing a trick here. I know the kit is not ideal, but spec wise it was enough to do the job temporarily until I could afford more and iv seen it working for a few weeks doing a good job.

Any advise is more than welcome.

Reaction score
Sorry, went in bull in a china shop. Never read the introduction info. I haven't done any water testing yet, but have just order the drop testing kit. I have lived here for 5 weeks and not changed the water yet, but have topped it up buy an inch a couple of times as I have notice the levels drop and my surface skimmer wasn't working efficiently. I live in the UK on the outskirts of London. Temperatures here are currently in the mid teens. (Degrees Celsius)

Pond shape is rectangle and is raised, W = 2.5m x L = 3.5m x D = 1.4 m. It's around 2500 gallons. I'll add a couple of pics.

I have my pump roughly mid depth centred against one the edges on the longest side. I also noticed a mistake on the pump I put in the original thread. It's 10000, not 1000.

Attachments