Fish Keeper and Filmmaker
Reaction score
Sometimes Los Angeles, Sometimes Nebraska
Hardiness Zone
5a
Country
United States
Hey everyone!

It's been awhile. I'm back in my hometown for the summer since the semester ended, and I'm pretty sure my fish are getting ready to spawn. My largest female looks like she's going to explode. I can explain farther, but being a filmmaker, I prefer using videos to show things. Here is my planned set up for when the fish spawn:

I'm still trying to find some food for the fry. There's not a lot of brine shrimp salesmen here in Nebraska. Anyway, I'll keep you updated with what happens.

Thanks!

-Zack

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
5b
Great video, obviously a "filmaker"! How are the spawning mops created? Looks like you used soda/water bottles, but what is wrapped around them? The mop head, I assume? I tied my mop heads to a string on the edge of the pond, but like your idea to have them free floating in the pond, too. Good luck with your pending spawning! My goldfish spawned (one of them did anyhow) about 2 weeks ago, but have not seen any others do so since then.

ZmanArt007

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
5a
Country
United States
How are the spawning mops created? Looks like you used soda/water bottles, but what is wrapped around them? The mop head, I assume? I tied my mop heads to a string on the edge of the pond, but like your idea to have them free floating in the pond, too.
Actually, it's just regular yarn draped over it and zip-tied. I used koikeepr's example here: https://www.gardenpondforum.com/threads/cheap-diy-spawn-mops.3754/ but I used bottles instead of cork.

I was right, they spawned this morning. I will upload a video later.

Last edited:
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
5b