New to Koi

Reaction score
Country
United States
hi everyone Im also new to ponds and Koi's a funny thing happened to me in the fish store I was trying to set up a pond with just some goldfish but I was in the store when an old lady came in asking if they would take some of her kois as her pond was too much work for her they were not nterested so I jumped in and offered to take a couple welllllll let me tell you it has been a trip and a half my pond is above ground prefab about 100 gallons 1st I had no idea her kois were 22 inches and larger I thought I was going to get some little fish like the ones in the store ha ha ... took me 1 1/2 hrs to catch it whew almost fell in she was huge I will post a pic when I finally figure out how anyway I got her home in a big tub once I put her in the pond she was very angry and chased my little fish around for hrs I believe she ate a couple but the next day was horrific not knowing anything I came out to find million of little balls stuck to everything and my pond very cloudy I freaked I thought some kind of bacteria I proceeded to empty the whole pond scrubb and clean fill made pretty again only to take some of the specimins to the fish store to be told they were just eggs and I could of left them all they would of been good food for all so hence I have named her Milly since I know she is a girl and spawned a million eggs as an introduction..
milly.jpg

sissy

sissy
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States
Welcome and guessing now you will need a bigger pond .Remember no scrubbing the pond it cleans off the good muck that fish like and that helps establish the pond .There are lots of things we will need to know about your pond to help you be a great fish parent

Mmathis

TurtleMommy
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
Hello and welcome!

Thank you for stepping in to rescue the fish, but sure hope you have plans for a much larger pond....

Mmathis

TurtleMommy
Reaction score