overwintering lettuce and hyacinths in an aquarium

Reaction score
well as you prolly know im new to this pond thing but on the other hand ive been a total freak about aquariums all my life. i currently have 6 fish tanks all over 55 gal. up to 125gals with some really large fish i have had for yrs

my question i guess is ive read numerous articles that it aint worth trying to bring these plants inside for winter but considering i need to buy nothing or change anything besides maybe a better bulb for lighting why cant i just throw a few of these in one of my tanks

has anyone tried this or had any success with it thanks in advance

Reaction score
I'll be watching this thread, cause I have the same question. I brought my hyacinths in a couple nights ago and put an LED blue and red growth light on them. When I get them in the Spring they are so small and don't get much larger by the time they die from one cold night. So it won't hurt to try :)
I'm going to check and see if I need an air stone. I think there is more information on the plant part of this forum...

Reaction score
ah i see 65 degrees is when they start turning yellow i was wondering what was up with mine i thought they were all dying cuz the pond is only 3 weeks old well guess i better grab a few of them that still have some green to them and get them inside and go head and give my pirahna tank a shot on keeping them this winter wish me luck lol. and i already had a brand new grow lite i had from when i had my salt tank so im gonna give that one a try thanks for the thread

Reaction score