Poorly goldfish

kaz

Reaction score
Hi , newbie here looking for some advice :)

I think our goldfish could have a possible infection or some sort but I'm not to sure ?? Couple of days ago we noticed one of our comets had a bad side . It almost look bubbled ?? We fetched him out of the pond and it went down to something just looked like a flap of skin . Although I am concerned it could be a possible bacterial infection ?? And now one of the other comets has a very small bump on its side .

Are we best to remove the fish and treat ? As it's a home made pond of a funny shape and different depths so we've no idea how much it holds .

Here is the best picture I could get of the fish

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    119 KB · Views: 327

j.w

I Love my Goldies
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
USDA 8a
Country
United States
kaz
Sorry I can't help you on what that is on your fish. Someone here more specialized in disease may be of help to you. It could be just a wound it got from running into something during spawning. Have you noticed any chasing going on?

kaz

Reaction score
Thank you. I can't say I have but I'm not sure ?

Also here are pictures of the other fish

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    192 KB · Views: 326
  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    192.1 KB · Views: 325
Reaction score
Looks like ulceration I just treated this on some of my goldfish a few months ago. First you must test your water parameters. Then separate the fish with open wounds or sores. Apply anti bacterial fish cream to areas at least once a day and feed anti bacterial food. Feed fish in the pond medicated food as well. This may be a secondary infection so keep a close eye for any other symptoms. Maybe a large water change in the pond as well

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
7a
Country
United Kingdom