Pretty Upset

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
6A
Country
United States
This is my first year trying to overwinter Koi in my pond. I am sure they did not make it through the winter. I used an air stone to keep a hole in the ice open. Ammonia stayed at Zero, General hardness at 60, carbonate hardness at 120, PH at 7.0, No2 and No3 at zero. 4 feet deep pond. 8 feet wide, 6 foot long, 4 Koi that are less than 10" and three 5" goldfish. Zone 6A. The pond never froze any deeper than 8 inches in any area away from the ice dome from the 8" hole near the bubbler. If my fish died during my first attempt, I will probably never try to over-winter koi again.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
6 A
Country
United States
Let us know how your koi are doing. I'm in Cincinnati, Ohio and mine made it through the winter. I too used an aerator and suspended the stones near the pond de-icer.

j.w

I Love my Goldies
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
USDA 8a
Country
United States
Maybe they are alive just still hunkered down waiting for things to warm up more. If you don't see bodies there is still hope.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
5b
Country
United States
In my opinion the spring is more dangerous than the winter. Low resistance and bad bacteria make for a bad combination. Hope your fish are okay!

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Maybe they are alive just still hunkered down waiting for things to warm up more. If you don't see bodies there is still hope.

That was kind of what I meant - are there dead fish? Or aren't there dead fish? Because there's not much gray area!

JBtheExplorer

Native Gardener
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
5b
Country
United States
This is my first year trying to overwinter Koi in my pond. I am sure they did not make it through the winter.

May I ask why you are sure they didn't make it?
I overwintered some baby goldfish this year as a trial run and expected them to be dead, one day they appeared, swimming around like winter didn't happen.