Starting to see a bit of Ammonia and Nitrite

RKJ

Reaction score
Hi Folks,

Thank you for advice in advance.

I will try and give as much info as possible.

My pond set up is about 1000 gallons 7L x 8W x 3' deep. Hybird aspect in that it is an Aquascape biofalls upflow traditional size not the mini setup / all mats about seven japanese mats stacked in the unit. / 3000 gph internal pump. That's about 6 times per hr the water gets turned over :)
Very very clear water. I am nuts about clear water.
Stream about 6' that helps airiate. Also Aquascape air stone / pump.

No small rocks in the bottom just liner no bottom drain with no plants. Been there done that.

I have been doing this hobby for 10 yrs or so. I have up until last week raised 11 nice koi a few between 20" - 26" in length. I do about a 15% water change every week.
I have a dense mat in the skimmer and wash that every week. I wash the
These koi are between 2 and about 4 yrs old.

Historically feed only about once or twice a day. Pretty light feeding most fish are not super bulky kinda slim.

Now for the question about my Ammonia / Nitrite / Nitrate / Ph levels.

I use the API master test kit. Just bought a new one.

I do not know the tap water ammonia level. The Tap Ph level is about 7.4 or so.

I test sometimes in the morning other times afternoon, no real pattern.

I think I have always had just a bit of Ammonia / Nitrite if you do wait 5 minutes before comparing the tubes to the card. Close to zero in my view.

A few things have changed recently, however I just think I am reaching the max filter capacity of the biofalls / mats but not sure. You experts will wonder how I got this far with healthy fish.

I did change out mats all at once about 3 weeks ago so good bacteria cycle is just not happening yet. Ok now for some more fun and no wonder my levels are spiking, I will stop feeding today!!