Timber screws VS spikes/rebar

Reaction score
Country
United States
Newbie here... building my first raised timber pond and super excited.

Though its more expensive, I am leaning toward 10" timber screws VS spikes / rebar to fasten 6 x 6 timbers together.

My reasoning: I hear that you really have to pound the rebar with a sledge hammer and use quite a bit of elbow grease. I plan on pouring a concrete footing so the timbers can be off the ground, and I fear cracking the concrete with all the sledge hammer strikes.

Does anyone advise against the screws? Is the rebar approach better / stronger? Just FYI, I am going 24-30" high and the timber framing will measure approx 3' x 16'.

Appreciate any advice. Thanks in advance! :)
Scott

Last edited:
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
Country
United States
Newbie here... building my first raised timber pond and super excited.

Though its more expensive, I am leaning toward 10" timber screws VS spikes / rebar to fasten 6 x 6 timbers together.

My reasoning: I hear that you really have to pound the rebar with a sledge hammer and use quite a bit of elbow grease. I plan on pouring a concrete footing so the timbers can be off the ground, and I fear cracking the concrete with all the sledge hammer strikes.

Does anyone advise against the screws? Is the rebar approach better / stronger? Just FYI, I am going 24-30" high and the timber framing will measure approx 3' x 16'.

Appreciate any advice. Thanks in advance! :)
Scott