Water feature design - Am I missing anything?

Reaction score
Country
United States
I’m still designing my water features and had a few questions.
Recap: My pond was built on a slope so it is part below ground and part above ground. The above-ground part is PT 4 x 6 timbers. It is 10’ x 10’ with the deepest part being almost 3’. It has a rubber lining (which is actually 20’ x 20’). It has a bottom drain. At this point, nothing else is installed (it is part of a bigger project which I hope to have all framed before we get snow).

Please see attached diagram. #Note: I’m not good at 3D so it’s hard to see the actual layout (it’s on a slope). The water level of the bog is above that of the pond. The water level of the Water Garden is above that of the bog.

The Skimmer has two chambers. It was designed to hold a submersible pump on the right. The right chamber was fitted with a bulkhead that connects to the bottom drain.

Coming out is a Wye with a ball valve at each outlet. The idea is to have the ability to adjust water flow between the waterfall/filter and the gardens (assuming the gardens need a slower flow).

The “Water Garden” is for ornamental plants (the pond will have nothing in it but Koi). Water enters through a bulk head at the bottom and exits as a waterfall at the top.

The bog is for growing basil and other vegetables/spices. Water spills into the bog (at the top) and exits through an opening at the bottom (gravel is held in place by a wire mesh). The water then spills back into the pond.

Aeration is from the waterfall/filter as well as a membrane in the bottom drain (connected to an air pump).

Am I missing anything?

Thanks in advance!
side view.jpg

Meyer Jordan

Tadpole
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
9a
Country
United States
I’m still designing my water features and had a few questions.