When to introduce new fish.

Reaction score
Hi all, I'm new to the pond scene. I have a preformed liner about 150 gallons I'd say. I would like to introduce a couple fish hopefully Koi but I need more info. Since it is late August is it to late to introduce Koi to the pond? Should I wait till Spring?

JohnHuff

I know nothing.
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
1a
Country
Kyrgyzstan
First of all, where do you live? UK, US, Australia?

Is your pond cycled?

I'm going to assume US or UK and the pond not cycled.

- I think most of us are going to say that a 150g pond is too small for koi. You might get away with a couple of small 2-3" koi for a few years until they get bigger.
- If your pond isn't cycled, then whatever fish you introduce is probably going to die.
- What kind of filter do you have?
- Personally, even if the pond was cycled, I wouldn't add fish at this time. I can feel nippiness in the air and this is the time when I feel the pond is getting into fall season but then I don't live in the South.

Reaction score
I'm in the US, New Jersey. The pond has been running for a week now with a couple plants. Multi level Bio filter and UV. I'm use to caring for exotics in big freshwater tanks 55-275 gallon tanks ( water temp is controlled ). This is my first shot at a pond and koi or goldfish. I'd be throwing in a few goldfish to help the cycle along. I wouldn't be adding till it has cycled and a partial water change. I would be adding a couple small koi like you said. Next season I plan on making the pond bigger and getting rid of the preformed liner. (Found the liner and decided to give it a shot before the season ended.) I'm curious if the couple small koi I put in now would make it through the winter.

JohnHuff

I know nothing.
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
1a
Country
Kyrgyzstan
I'm curious if the couple small koi I put in now would make it through the winter.