10' x 12' pond 2,000 galls 4 foot waterfalls need filter help

Reaction score
Hey guys im a newbie to ponds i built my first pond a year ago.It is approximately 10' x 12' with 3 4" waterfalls coming down into the pond.Pond looks amazing but the only problem is i cant get rid of the dirty brown water look.I was thinking of building a DIY bio filter and hiding it under my deck using 2 55' drums.Anyone have much luck with method?And does anyone know how to get rid of green string string algate and black algae it covers my waterfalls.

Pond size:10' x 12'
depth:2ft
gallons approx 2,000
Skimmer:Little giant 5000 gal
Pump:Hydrive 6,000 gph
Waterfall wier:31' savio

Water is pumped from inside the swimmer 10ft up hill into my waterfall wier and falls down 3 sets of waterfalls 4' wide and directly into the pond.View attachment 6075

Attachments

• CIMG5201.jpg
    CIMG5201.jpg
    142.2 KB · Views: 359

addy1

water gardener / gold fish and shubunkins
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
Sounds nice, charcoal can help get rid of the brown color, it could be from leaves etc.

The skippy type diy filters work great from what everybody has said here.

Welcome!

sissy

sissy
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States
welcome jay and why is everything always greener in P.A. .I have not been back there for 25 years now .

Reaction score
You guys think i should go with a 2 55 gallon setup or just a single its gonna be placed under my deck out of view.Im going 10' foot up hill currently and just dumping into my waterfall wier.Also I would hate to redo all the tubing when i build my filter,Im running 2" line now,is there anyway i can splice into the 2" line,cut it before it goes to my wier and redirect it the the 55' gallon drum,filter out material and go back into my wier.

Reaction score