2 Koi and 2 problems

DNR

DNR
Reaction score
Hello,

I have a 14" butterfly koi and i believe she may contsipated. I've had her for 6 wks and she was the 1st Koi in our new pond. She has what I think may be either a seperate skinny fin or a string of feces about 4" long. I'm not sure she hasn't had it since I 1st got her, thinking it was just another fin. (I'm still very new at all this) It's located between the 2 bottom front fins and the back bottom fin ( not the tail fin). I haven't been able to find a good picture describing the anatomy of koi ( to show where the rectom is located ) and I've search several websites on constipation where one says to feed 100% whole wheat bread and one site said never feed bread. I have given her peas and if anything I probably haven't been feeding enough. One websight said to always soak the dried pellets before feeding which I've never done. Is this true?
She acts very normal, happy, hungry and very friendly. I tried to rub her belly last night while hand feeding to see if that thing might come off and she took off and hid.
Also how do you catch a butterfly koi w/o hurting it or tearing the fins?
I've seen so many pictures of koi being hand held and they appear to just be lying there very calm. I know if I were to try that she would totally freak out and maybe never come to me agian. (We're very close :) )
We had our pond up and running 3 months before getting her and the water quality checks out and is very clear.

I now also have a 4" koi and this morning I noticed it has a small red patch ( maybe an 1/8th inch around near her back tail fin with
3 small white bumps in it ( like little white head pimples). Nothing I've read on diseases seems to apply to this that I can tell. Should I put it in the quaruntine tank? It also appears very healthyin every other way.