2 layers of liner better then 1?

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hey guys. I am in process of of ripping out my smaller 500 gallon or so pond and replacing it with a 10 ft by 10 ft pond. I am a mech contractor and have a roll of liner left over. Would it hurt to cut a few sections and use it under my 15 by 15 liner.

I was thinking of cutting a piece for the floor and maybe some for the shelves. Then putting down my underlayment.

Just to make it a little stronger.

I used to go on this forum some time ago but it was with another email that I no longer have or use.

Thanks.

Brian

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Welcome!

It wouldn’t hurt at all! We used scrap pieces of liner under big rocks as extra padding - same idea.

Reaction score
Country
United States
Thanks!! I have very sandy, rocky soil and lots of roots here in NJ. Very hard to have good strong shelves. They want to collapse hah.

What can be done about that if anything?

Mmathis

TurtleMommy
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
Hello and welcome!

I’m no pond-construction expert by any means, but what about using concrete blocks reinforced with rebar for the shelves? I have the opposite of your problem: clay. Different characteristics, but similar problems. I ended up using cinder blocks to make a collar around the entire pond and so far, so good.

sissy

sissy
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States
you could get water trapped between the liners and cause a bubble as long as it is pieces it will harm nothing .I did it because moles chewed 1 of my liners .Put a triple liner on the bottom and on the sides and the underlayment .I put milky spore down to help kill the grubs also

Reaction score
Country
United States
Thanks all. Could you just dig your pond down to the depth you want, mine is 30 inches. Then put the concrete block in right against the dirt pond walls at different levels. Then cover it with underlayment and then liner?

Reaction score