2 pleco + 2 koi + 2 goldfish = 2 dead kois? What to do next?

Reaction score
Hey Guys

I'm new here and, experience wise, new to fish raising. Im hoping if you guys could please provide some insight into my situation.

Just some basics -
My pond is about 5' x 5' x 2.5' (LxWxD) with only a fountain in the middle. For the past 10 years, we've been able to keep a mix of koi and goldfishes in there without them dying unexplainably. Because I am a full-time student and my parents are not available most of the time, we dont really maintain the pond that much...we only fill it when the water runs low and clean the filter when it clogs up. We dont feed the fish since they just eat the algae (they just grow slower, but otherwise still healthy, as seen by the naked eye) nor do we change out the water. Its pretty much a self-sustaining environment. We fill the pond by first filling a 5 gallon bucket and let it sit in the Texas sun for about a week to dechlorinate it, then we dump it into the pond. The pump's filter is just one of those plastic sponge-like filters fitted on the intake of the pump.

I started off with 3 koi fishes from petsmart and all 3 /did/ live a rather healthy and stable life for the past 5 years until now... One of them is mostly black, another one is white, and the third one is a mix of red, black, and white.

Currently, in Texas, the temps are still between 70 deg F low and 90+ deg F highs right now. So I know that my fish should be active.

Here's a time line of whats been happening in order:
  1. 2 weeks to 2 months ago: Noticed the mix-colored koi dissappeared...No trace of the carcass, assumed it was an animal that fished it out during the night.