90 gal starter in south California

Reaction score
It all started when i saw in the flea market 2 koi's about 5 inches jammed with other 15 goldfishes in a 10 gal tank, i felt sorry for those guys so i have a 40 gal tank with 2 crayfishes so nobody would mind. after research and some money that i had in the bank i wanted to give a decent life for the koi so i have a 400gph becket pump, filter made with bio balls, 1 layer of carbon filter pad, then the regular white pad, and on the very top carbon with media chips i think they are anti amonia. i placed a couple of Pvc pipes 3" by 5 in lenght. i added frogsbit and the rest is decoration.
I'm new to these culture, is getting colder here in San Diego the water is about 50 at night should i leave the fish to eat the algae that is growing in the bottom or just to feed them very little, i'm very attached to them and i just feel bad if i don't trow a couple of pellets, i'm feeding them the hikari cold/winter diet. i'm really need your help in this issue that i'm having thank you for leting me be part of your for

Attachments

• 2011-12-14 09.55.30.jpg
    2011-12-14 09.55.30.jpg
    99.2 KB · Views: 359
  • 2011-12-14 10.06.55.jpg
    2011-12-14 10.06.55.jpg
    70.7 KB · Views: 325

koidaddy

karps house of koi
Reaction score
You really shouldn't feed if water is below 55ish. Those guys will outgrow thier home in a couple years so start planning your next build.

sissy

sissy
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States
Welcome and you really did a nice job on the pond and the fish look healthy .Lve how you did the area around your pond and you must be doing something right as the fish look happy and the water really looks clear and clean.Fish have a way of making you feel guilty ,but remember it is for there health and keep reminding your self of that and you know that you are doing the right thing by them .Good luck and great pond ,thumbs up

j.w

I Love my Goldies
Reaction score
Showcase(s):