A noob here with some water questions

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
7a
I am in the process of learning how to take care of the pond in the backyard of the house I just bought. I'm in Western NC. The pond is a 1000-gallon pond with only native rocks in it, secured by some mortar. It has a 4000 GPH pump and a Pondmaster UVR 4000 filter, which feeds a large waterfall feature. There are eight small goldfish and a couple of plants in it. To the best of my knowledge, except for some neglect before I bought the house, this pond has been like this for several years. I cleaned it out and got the pump and filter working, and I've given it about two weeks now to stabilize. The water is now quite clear, and the fish appear to be healthy.

Ammonia, nitrites, and nitrates are all below 25 ppm. The pH (checked twice daily) is 8.5-8.6. The kH is less than 53 ppm. The only thing I've added to the pond is about 500 gallons of water from my municipal water system, treated with API tap water conditioner. (I had to remove some water to get to the pump.) That city water has a pH of about 8.4 and a kH of less than 53 ppm. (Using an API master test kit, BTW.)

Everything I've read says that a pH in this range is not ideal, but it is okay as long as it is stable. What concerns me is the low kH. I've also read that without the pH buffering capacity that a higher kH would provide, the pH could drop rapidly under certain conditions. Not good.

Are these conditions possible or likely with this pond?

Should I be concerned about this low kH?

The high pH and low kH of the municipal water are probably the main reasons for the high pH and low kH in the pond. Right?

Should I sweeten the city water I add to the pond with some baking soda or something?

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
7a
Country
United States
Hello from another western NC resident! What area are you located in? I'm about 20 miles east of Boone.