A total beginner; various questions

Reaction score
Hi!

I am looking for a fish expert's advice or advice and instructions from a person who's had lots of experience (because I'd like to learn from the best, lol)

At the moment I own two common goldfish in an aquarium, which I am very attached too. I also have two "sucker" fish, which are the ones that latch to the glass and suck gunk/algae away for food.

It was recently decided that we're moving and I thought this is a perfect oppurtunity to get a water garden/koi pond which I've always wanted to have as we're moving to acreage so there's plenty of room. My current aquarium goldfish are about 12-15 cms (2-3 inches) long from head to tail. The sucker fish are only around 4-5 cms.
I know goldfish are pretty hardy so I know they'll survive the 6 hour drive from here to our new property, no problem.

Question 1
Will the sucker fish survive in a pond? Are they suited for pond life? I was told by the pet shop owner that they'd need a heater in a larger aquarium but they have survived more than a year in my small one. If they're not okay for a pond, I could just find someone else with an aquarium to give them to.

Question 2
Constructing the pond...
I live in Australia, where kookaburras are commonplace, and they are excellent fishers, so some chicken wire/mesh will have to go over the pond's surface.
I'd like the pond to be around 2 metres wide by 3 metres long, (depth, I don't know, see question 3). Guide/tips for building?
I'm thinking that after the plastic lining and plantlife and that have been put in, the chicken wire would go over the top and be stapled to the grass with a small section unstapled and just held down with rocks, so we can put new fish in if I ever wanted some.
My dad says I could just buy a pre-made fibre-glass pond shell.

Question 3