above ground bog filter

Reaction score
hi guys i kneed a bit of help with my bog filter it is 8ft long 14" wide x 14" deep. i'm using 7ft x 1"1/2 pvc pipe i have put 1/4" holes app 6-8" apart that gives me 12 holes is this enough as i read somewhere they should be 3" apart. also i ordered enough 3/8" pee shingle to fill the box to 1ft deep, unfortunately was out when it was delivered and my son's moved it into the garden, the builders had delivered mixed gravel can i use this if i separate it into three sizes i.e a layer of 4" deep x 3/4" on the bottom then a layer 4" deep x 3/8" in the middle topped of with a layer 4" deep 1/4" on the top for potting plants in. i'm hoping this will work as i don't fancy paying out another £45 on more gravel plus moving it a100 yds to my garden thanks guys

Reaction score
I am no expert on bogs but I put one in in desperation when I could not clear the algae. MY bog has no shingle or gravel at all. Just water in and water out. But I do have several nbags of lava rock to provide bacterial surfaces and I have several sponges to do the same.

The bog has had limited success in controlling algae and I have since reverted to using a UV light part time which is doing the trick. I also cut back on feeding my koi.

Several posters here have suggested various plants to take up the nutrients -- hornwort, parrots feathers, water hyacinth, etc. I suppose you can try all of the above but if you have an algae problem and all else fails insert a UV light in the path from the pond to the bog...

Harry

Reaction score
I don't think the pipe systems under bogs are a great idea. Then benefit to bogs imo is the length of time water spends in the bog. Pump water in one end and it flows out the other. Add a pipe beneath and water can travel down the pipe, bypassing much of the bog.

I wouldn't worry about the mixed gravel, it's all good.

Reaction score