Above ground build

Reaction score
Country
United States
So...

Total and complete newb here, I barely know any terminology so excuse my lack of knowledge and silly questions. This summer I plan to have built my first pond, and I want to make sure I don't regret it.

I've seen a ton of design ideas for above ground ponds. I really cant dig as my backyard is full of large maple trees. I want to build something that is structurally sound and will not bow/rot in the winters and summers here in New York.

I've seen concrete block ponds, ponds using 6x6's as the frame, even ponds with just a wood skeleton and plywood on the outside.

I really have no idea where to start. How much reinforcement does something like a pond made of 6x6's require? How about one with concrete blocks? I'd really rather not fill the whole thing with cement and rebar, does using a liner eliminate the need for this? What about ground freezing and thawing, would it be necessary to pour a concrete base, or "footing" (I think) to support the bottom? I would like to make this pond an L shape, 8 feet long on the long part and 4 feet long on the end.

Any help at all would be greatly appreciated. Really clueless, sorry for the bad questions!

Reaction score
Country
United States
Oh, and around 3.5 feet tall/deep would be sufficient for koi additions eventually? How does that factor in to support necessary

j.w

I Love my Goldies
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
USDA 8a
Country
United States
Koi need a big pond, about 1000 gals per koi. Go bigger or put in Shubunkins or other pretty types of goldfish.

Reaction score
Country
United States
Koi need a big pond, about 1000 gals per koi. Go bigger or put in Shubunkins or other pretty types of goldfish.