Above ground koi pond help

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hi!
I've been keeping fish for a couple of years now and I've always wanted to keep Koi fish. I don't really have the money to set up a under ground pond so I was looking at above ground alternatives. I've watched many Youtube videos out there and most people use the large, 350 gallon rubbermaid stock tanks. Keep in mind I'm only going to keep a few fish at most in something that small. I wanted to find something even cheaper though. I found http://www.amazon.com/Intex-8ft-30i...TF8&qid=1459878365&sr=8-6&keywords=intex+pool while looking around on Amazon and wanted to know what you guys thought about it. That pool comes with a filtration system and I wonder if that would work well for the use I have in mind. The biggest hurdle I've ran into is how to filter the water. I don't want to buy a Fluval FX6 at $350. Again, I would even consider building a framed above ground pond and covering the frame with a pond liner so my problem isn't the place to put water but how to filter it enough to keep the Koi happy. Thanks in advance for the help!!!

Meyer Jordan

Tadpole
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
9a
Country
United States
I would recommend the Intex pool for use as a temporary holding facility but not for permanent housing. Though a very good product, it only has a 30 day warranty. You need something a little more dependable than that.
Before you decide on filtration you first need to decide the size (capacity) of your pond and what the ultimate fish load will be.

sissy

sissy
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States
above ground would be easy ,You can use retaining wall block or concrete block .Mine is half below ground and half above ground .Those pools and filters would never work for fish and koi get very large fast

Reaction score
Country
United States