Absolute beginners pond has gone blue green.

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Naively we have dug a 10ft deep hole in clay. Its 30ft long by about 15ft wide tapering to about 8ft at each end. The pond is spring fed. We have used pea shingle around the edges of the pond and railway sleepers to create a non planted rudimentary regeneration area. We are yet to plant this area. We have not used a liner due to cost and our belief that the clay would not leak. ( It doesn't). We absolutely love having the pond. We also realise this whole swimming pond thing is alot more complicated than we thought.
First question: can we still swim in the pond ?
Is the algea harmful to us.
Do we need to start again ?
Introduce a liner, water circulation, filtration, plants....?
Its a big experiment that we are not expecting to be get anywhere near right few weeks in, but all help from informed experienced pond lovers, would be very gratefully received. Many thanks Patch Robertson

Attachments

• IMG-20200815-WA0003.jpeg
    IMG-20200815-WA0003.jpeg
    149 KB · Views: 109
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
Thats a lot of water but you didn't make it so big thats its impossible to filter. And with that lift you could make a heck of a water fall but in the same breath you need to stabilize the slope. A bog would clean up that green algae.

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Thanks so much for the response. What is a bog ? The slope on the bank will definitely be reduced. Any further advice gratefully received. Thanks again. Cheers Patch

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States