Activated charcoal or Activated Carbon, which to use

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
9B
Country
United States
When it comes to water clarity, such as tannins what works better ?

1. Activated charcoal
2. Activated carbon
3. where do I get it?
4. how is it used?
5. what kind of container, sock or bag does it need?
6. Is there a particular size of pellet to get?
7. Where to place it (bio filter or skimmer area)

Thanks ahead of time as I have never used activated charcoal/carbon before

Meyer Jordan

Tadpole
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
9a
Country
United States
Activated Charcoal and Activated Charcoal are two labels for essentially the same thing.
It is easily found on-line. Google 'Activated Carbon/Charcoal" then click on the 'shopping' tab.
It is best used in a fine mesh bag Some sources sell it already in a mesh bag. Larger pellets are better at accommodating the water flow rates used in ponds. It should be placed where it will be exposed to moving water. The biofilter or skimmer , as you indicated, is ideal.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
9B
Country
United States
Activated Charcoal and Activated Charcoal are two labels for essentially the same thing.
It is easily found on-line. Google 'Activated Carbon/Charcoal" then click on the 'shopping' tab.
It is best used in a fine mesh bag Some sources sell it already in a mesh bag. Larger pellets are better at accommodating the water flow rates used in ponds. It should be placed where it will be exposed to moving water. The biofilter or skimmer , as you indicated, is ideal.

Do I need to rinse it 1st before placing it. If so, how long ?

Also, when topping off the pond with tap water... do I need to add anything to remove the Chloramines ?
I can see doing so if I do a drastic water change, but not sure if I need to if adding just an occasional inch of water due to evaporation.

Meyer Jordan

Tadpole
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
9a
Country
United States