Added Fish To New Pond, Now What.....

Discussion in 'Newbies to Garden Ponds' started by qclabrat, Jun 29, 2017.

  1. qclabrat

    qclabrat

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2016
    Messages:
    654
    Likes Received:
    363
    Location:
    NJ
    I added two fish to the new pond two days ago, I didn't do an ammonia test yesterday, but today it's at about 0.2
    what should the test numbers be hovering around, zero? What's a bad number while the filters are cycling. What number should I be targeting after the bacteria have settled in after a few weeks?

    Currently using a Laguna canister setup but will eventually phase over to a bog filter. pH is around 7.0 and nitrates and nitrites are low. Used city tap water.

    Another question is that my pond is lined but completely bare. I don't plan on plants this year in the pond (bog only). But I assume they will need a hiding spots. Should I get some tunnels or something else for them to be less exposed?

    Getting pea gravel next week. Is it okay to put a thin layer of pea gravel at the bottom of the pond? I have a black goldfish and can't see them with the black liner.
     
    qclabrat, Jun 29, 2017
    #1
    Nanner likes this.
    1. Advertisements

  2. qclabrat

    sissy sissy

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    31,094
    Likes Received:
    14,174
    Location:
    Axton virginia
    pea gravel get covered in muck so you will never see it after awhile so the expense is not really worth it .You can get crushed oyster shells to stable your ph and zeolite will control ammonia .Do you treat your city water and don't feed your fish much 101_0942.JPG
     
    sissy, Jun 29, 2017
    #2
    IPA likes this.
    1. Advertisements

  3. qclabrat

    MitchM

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2012
    Messages:
    6,723
    Likes Received:
    6,688
    Location:
    Water Valley, Alberta
    The ammonia reading of .2 is probably fine. Continue to test daily.
    What is the numerical value of the nitrite?
     
    MitchM, Jun 29, 2017
    #3
  4. qclabrat

    qclabrat

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2016
    Messages:
    654
    Likes Received:
    363
    Location:
    NJ
    crushed oyster shells as a bedding? That could be expensive to order. though I know a place in Groton CT where I can get it for free, however not processed and full shells.

    I was going to treat it for chlorine but everyone here said to not bother if I wait a few days before adding fish. Also have not fed them yet. I can start today, but I thought GF don't need regular feedings?
     
    qclabrat, Jun 30, 2017
    #4
  5. qclabrat

    sissy sissy

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    31,094
    Likes Received:
    14,174
    Location:
    Axton virginia
    no you put them in a bag in your filter or over the side of the pond in a bag
     
    sissy, Jun 30, 2017
    #5
  6. qclabrat

    qclabrat

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2016
    Messages:
    654
    Likes Received:
    363
    Location:
    NJ
    oh okay, so there's not much I can do to make my handsome black GF more visible?
     
    qclabrat, Jun 30, 2017
    #6
  7. qclabrat

    sissy sissy

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    31,094
    Likes Received:
    14,174
    Location:
    Axton virginia
    not really but i have a almost all black koi and he is easy to see
     
    sissy, Jun 30, 2017
    #7
  8. qclabrat

    qclabrat

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2016
    Messages:
    654
    Likes Received:
    363
    Location:
    NJ
    as mentioned before, the pond is bare at the moment. I have a bucket floating around and see they like to go in and out and under. Is there something I can float in the pond this year to give them some coverage? Not planning to have plants this year.
     
    qclabrat, Jun 30, 2017
    #8
  9. qclabrat

    addy1 water gardener / gold fish and shubunkins Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    33,203
    Likes Received:
    17,820
    Location:
    Frederick, Maryland
    Get a piece of the green Styrofoam insulation from the box store, it floats. Make a few holes in it, stick in some plants = floating island = shade/shelter/ plant filtration
     
    addy1, Jun 30, 2017
    #9
    Nyboy and qclabrat like this.
  10. qclabrat

    qclabrat

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2016
    Messages:
    654
    Likes Received:
    363
    Location:
    NJ
    I like it, won't look so natural, but will keep my fish happy and won't need to water the plants
     
    qclabrat, Jun 30, 2017
    #10
  11. qclabrat

    Meyer Jordan Tadpole

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2014
    Messages:
    7,177
    Likes Received:
    5,640
    Location:
    Pensacola, Florida
    Test results for Ammonia, Nitrite and Nitrate will fluctuate as the pond cycles. For Ammonia and Nitrite a maximum reading of 1.0 should not cause any issues in your pond. Once the pond cycles the reading for these two (2) parameters should never be much over 0.00. Nitrate levels are not really an issue.
     
    Meyer Jordan, Jun 30, 2017
    #11
    ZEROPILOT and qclabrat like this.
  12. qclabrat

    EricV

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2015
    Messages:
    530
    Likes Received:
    441
    Location:
    Chicago (W suburbs)
    Try testing your water straight out of the tap. Your ammonia may be coming from chloramine. I know my tap water reads about 0.5 ppm on the API test kit.
     
    EricV, Jun 30, 2017
    #12
    ZEROPILOT, budgenator and qclabrat like this.
  13. qclabrat

    qclabrat

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2016
    Messages:
    654
    Likes Received:
    363
    Location:
    NJ
    using the Tetra test strips, nitrites are zero, going to order API liquid kit today along with the bigger pump
     
    qclabrat, Jun 30, 2017
    #13
  14. qclabrat

    qclabrat

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2016
    Messages:
    654
    Likes Received:
    363
    Location:
    NJ
    I have Ammo Lock on hand, but seems like I'm way below, will check the tap water also as suggested by Eric, any need to treat the water to remove the chloramines?

    should I expect to see some indications of Nitrates as the ammonia is processed by the bacteria? looking for an indicator, this feels similar to waiting for my first child's birth....:)
     
    qclabrat, Jun 30, 2017
    #14
  15. qclabrat

    addy1 water gardener / gold fish and shubunkins Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    33,203
    Likes Received:
    17,820
    Location:
    Frederick, Maryland
    Put some burlap on the green foam, on the top, hides the green, or get some spray paint , paint it brown, or put in lots of plants lol
    Creeping jenny covers the top of the foam as it grows.
     
    addy1, Jun 30, 2017
    #15
    qclabrat and sissy like this.
  16. qclabrat

    sissy sissy

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    31,094
    Likes Received:
    14,174
    Location:
    Axton virginia
    Even large foam pieces that are packed around stuff you buy can be used as an island. A pool noodle with window screening attached with floating plants in it .Jw came up with that idea years ago
     
    sissy, Jun 30, 2017
    #16
    qclabrat likes this.
  17. qclabrat

    qclabrat

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2016
    Messages:
    654
    Likes Received:
    363
    Location:
    NJ
    next question: aeration
    how do I know I have enough?
    right now just have a temporary waterfall from the output of the filter on a fiberglass waterfall kit and a fountain on the opposite side
     
    qclabrat, Jun 30, 2017
    #17
  18. qclabrat

    Meyer Jordan Tadpole

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2014
    Messages:
    7,177
    Likes Received:
    5,640
    Location:
    Pensacola, Florida
    Yes, but first verify which disinfectant your water supplier is using. Give them a call and they will tell you.
    If chloramine is used for treating your water, you must use a treatment that specifically states that it will neutralize chloramine. Typical chlorine neutralizers will not work.
     
    Meyer Jordan, Jun 30, 2017
    #18
    qclabrat likes this.
  19. qclabrat

    qclabrat

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2016
    Messages:
    654
    Likes Received:
    363
    Location:
    NJ
    just called and they do use chloramines, report is below
    yikes, gotta run home and treat sooner than later
    will my fish be harmed having been in there for a few days? any thing I can do to reverse damage?
    also presume it's preventing the growth of bacteria

    upload_2017-6-30_12-5-0.png
     
    qclabrat, Jun 30, 2017
    #19
  20. qclabrat

    budgenator

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2016
    Messages:
    327
    Likes Received:
    297
    Location:
    Croswell MI
    .
    Healthy ponds will grow a thin layer of bacteria and algae on everything. This backgrouind will make your dark fish more visible than you would imagine.
     
    budgenator, Jun 30, 2017
    #20
    qclabrat likes this.
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.