Aerator or pump?

Reaction score
Country
Canada
Hi everyone, 100% pond newbie here. :D

First, I'm so happy to have found this forum! Here's why: I'm trying to reclaim and maintain the natural pond on my property (about 60 ft x 10 ft, +/- 2 ft deep) without messing around too much with it (it's a breeding site for frogs). There's no liner and I'd rather not add one. I'd also like to avoid adding chemicals, if possible. But we get tons of mosquitos (despite the frogs) so I figure I need to ensure some sort of water movement. We have no intention of adding fish.

Each year the pond dries up by early summer, so I just installed an underground pipe to carry rainfall from my gutters to my pond. Plus I sometimes fill it with a garden house if it looks about to dry up.

At the risk of sounding stupid, do I need an aerator or a pump (or are they the same thing?) I have electrical power running to the pond already. If I drop the ball during a dry spell and the pond dries up, will it fry the aerator/pump if they keep running without water?

Also, I'm seeing comments about adding plants. Is this for minimizing algae? (which my pond now has lots). What kind of plants exactly?

So many questions... so little knowledge... even less time... don't even ask about the money...

Thanks for any advice you can offer

Attachments

• IMG_2479.JPG
    IMG_2479.JPG
    104.9 KB · Views: 21
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
If you just want to stop breeding mosquitoes , then i would just go with air bubblers around the pond and fountains . you can even make the air bubblers work as water pumps though you may not have the depth needed

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States