Aggressive koi

Reaction score
Country
United States
Just added a new comet gold fish to my koi pond only had two. They relently chased and bullied new fish all night took the new fish out of pond and isolated it hes pretty beat up i am very new to this just inherited the pond with new home not sure what to do next. Need some help/suggestions

Reaction score
Well that's terrible, I never saw that happen. You only have two koi, and they
are the culprits? Is the comet small and the koi big? Maybe they think it's
live food. You may have to keep the new guy isolated until he grows bigger.

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
8a
Country
United States
I've noticed on several occasions that when I add new fish to the pond the old fish chase the new ones around for a little while but it usually settles down in a day or two. It's almost like they're trying to establish a pecking order even if the new fish are much larger than the older ones.

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
I'm a bit confused - did you have two koi in the pond? Or two comets? Is this possibly spawning behavior? That can be relentless and appear (and actually be) quite violent.

How big is the pond? Any hiding places? How long have just these two been in the pond? A bit more info would help!

Reaction score
Country
United States
The pond is 10 x 8 x 3 1\2 deep .the two fish already in there i believe one is a koi and the other is a comet goldfish they are all about the same size the new one maybe an inch shorter. I do have some plants but not many hiding places. Not sure how long they have been theee just inherited this when i bought the house in Jan. There were several other fish with them however on the day we did the walk thru when buying the house we noticed several of the fish had die and were frozen at the top of the pond these were the only two that survived we kept them in a larg tub for the rest of the winter. When weather broke i returned them to the pond

Reaction score
Showcase(s):