Air stone/diffuser question

Mmathis

TurtleMommy
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
For those of you who use an [external] air pump for pond aeration, if you are using a 1/2” tubing set-up, what air stone/diffuser do you use?

I have a Pondmaster AP-20. It has a 1/2” outflow, but comes with a manifold attachment with 6 nipples that you can attach regular aquarium tubing & airstones. I have been using the manifold and running an assortment of smaller airstones into the pond. I want to switch to using the larger tubing....but not sure what air stones are good to use for this size.

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Following this post - upgrading my aeration is high on my list of things to do this summer! We currently have the four airstone Aquascape aerator. It's OK, but I think we can do better.

Mmathis

TurtleMommy
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
Following this post - upgrading my aeration is high on my list of things to do this summer! We currently have the four airstone Aquascape aerator. It's OK, but I think we can do better.
I was just tired of having the individual aquarium-sized tubings and the myriad air stones down there! I was getting good aeration, and I think that being able to “customize” the location of each air stone was a plus.... But time to try something different. And if I don’t like it, I still have the option of going back to the smaller tubing and smaller stones.

This is what I have now.
EB5F1448-5BA9-49D7-BC0A-D3A5139B4A60.jpeg

j.w

I Love my Goldies
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
USDA 8a
Country
United States
I'm looking at this one for my pond. Webb's online is having an Easter sale of 15% off all merchandise. https://webbsonline.com/Item/Matala-Air-Diffusers-99998

You fill it w/gravel or sand, I'd use gravel to hold it down on the pond bottom.