air valve on submersible pump

Reaction score
hi,i am new to fish pond keeping and i have just finished building my pond, and i am still busy setting it up, i have purchased a lifetech ap5200 3200l/h pump, the pump has arrived this morning, it doesnt have a manual with it, and comes with an air valve and tube included, the pump has a nozzle at one end where this tube would connect, can anybody please tell me what this is for?? thanks

Reaction score
ok so ive just done a little experiment to try and find out what the airvalve is for, i filled up my bath with water placed the pump in and turned it on !! thank god for the shower curtain or my bathroom would have been flooded as there was a 3 ft high fountain coming out of my bath !! anyways there was no bubbles of air coming from the air valve but when i raised the valve up out of the water the pump sounded differant and the water fountain redeced right down in size ! tried turning the valve underwater open and closed but didnt seem to have much effect ! so still baffled ??

Reaction score
This appears to be primarily a fountain pump. Perhaps the air valve is involved in controlling the fountain function. You should be able to go to the company site and find a manual.

DrDave

Innovator
Reaction score
It is probably an air inlet tube for a venturi on the fitting. The water passing by the opening draws air from the tube, the inlet must be outside the pond.
have your tried it?

j.w

I Love my Goldies
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
USDA 8a
Country
United States
welcomeSmiley-vi.gif
Mogsie I hope you can figure out what that thing is for on your pump. Sorry I can't be of any help on this one :D

Reaction score