Algeside overdose

Reaction score
Country
United States
I have never used algeside in my pond before and accidentally put 5 times the recommended dose. I lost all the tadpoles a frog and 1 fish.
It's been about 5 days and I haven't seen the other 5 fish. They haven't come up to eat. I was able to catch 3 and put them in different water. 1 of them died
Should I change the water at this point or just let it be? Help !!! I feel aweful about my fish and frogs! Any recommendations would be helpful! This is a disaster!

addy1

water gardener / gold fish and shubunkins
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
I would change the water, At least 50% not sure if the stuff will go away by itself or not. What kind did you use?

Reaction score
Country
United States
I have never used algeside in my pond before and accidentally put 5 times the recommended dose. I lost all the tadpoles a frog and 1 fish.
It's been about 5 days and I haven't seen the other 5 fish. They haven't come up to eat. I was able to catch 3 and put them in different water. 1 of them died
Should I change the water at this point or just let it be? Help !!! I feel aweful about my fish and frogs! Any recommendations would be helpful! This is a disaster!
I would change the water, At least 50% not sure if the stuff will go away by itself or not. What kind did you use?
Should I get the rest of the fish out? I will have to declorinate.

Reaction score
Country
United States
If you can change water with the fish in the pond (less stress for them that way) just add dechlor to pond before adding new water. You may want to do a few water changes just to be sure to remove all of the chemical.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
6 A
Country
United States