Anethatizing you koi / Goldfish the various stages of .

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
7a
Country
United Kingdom
There are various forms of anaesthetcs out there in the fish world, however I have come across many people who are afraid to use it, prefaring instead to get someone in to do it for them be it another koi or goldfish hobbyist or koi professional.
As such with this thread I'm attempting to take away the mystique in the hope of getting other koi Keepers to use it.
In all there are four stages a koi must go through, lets mark them a) c) d)
Please note that with Benzocaine I was always told to mix with White spirit before use.
I will also tell you what to look out for at the various stages of anaethatization.
Dose rates vary from anaethetic to anaesthetic.
Please note:- as a disclaimer I must say please always check with a koi professional before mixing, as I am a hobbyist not a koi professional and dont wish to get the dose rates wrong as this is purely from my observations of my own koi over the years at rates give to me by other hobbyists.

a). Sedation of koi :- MS222, Benzocaine, Oil of Cloves etc.....
This form simply reduces reactivity to any external stimuli with a slight decrease in the breathing of the koi and as such is the lowest form of aneathatization in a koi.

Light Anesthezia of koi :- MS222, Benzocaine,Oil of Cloves etc........
This form results in a partial loss of the koi's equilibrium.
You will note how he koi rolls and attempts to right itself with a further decrease in breathing of the koi.

c) Deeper Anesthezia of koi :- MS222,Benzocaine, Oil of Cloves etc.......
You will note that form results in a total loss of the koi's equilibrium, its breathing is yet again reduced.

d) Surgical Anesthezia of koi :- MS222, Benzocaine, Oli of Cloves etc.......