Another "what pump" question.

Reaction score
So my coworker has "employed" me to help him with a possible pond/waterfall build. I have some experience with small ponds and I build my own drum/canister filters, but his situation is a little bigger than my experience.
He has a hill next to a creek that he wants to put in a water fall combo pond on it, he estimates hill is about 25" or so high. His idea is to put a pond less pit at the bottom of the hill, pump water to the top where he will have a nice drop water fall, run that down about 10-12' where he wants to put a decent size pond ( 1000-1500 gal with some goldfish maybe 1 or 2 Koi) kind of in the middle of waterfalls then have another waterfall out of that which will then feed the pit at the bottom.
So he has put it to me about pumps. He wants a lot of water flowing and was thinking of a pump at the bottom to go all the way to the top. I suggested to him of actually using two pumps, 1 to pump from bottom to the middle pond, then another to pump from middle pond to the upper water fall, but here is the over my head part.... I have no idea what type or size pumps he would need for that much vertical head rise. I told him I didn't think a single pump would be up to that 25" rise in the volume he is looking for.
So, any opinions?

Another kink in the idea he suggested, his current creek is mainly a drain creek but has water trickling through it on a pretty constant basis. he suggested putting his bottom pit in the bottom of the creek and allowing waterfalls/ponds drained into it. He was thinking the constant fresh water flow would keep the ponds from evaporating and replenishing the volume. I was leery thinking this throws an outside factor and pond system is now not a closed system possibly causing issues by introducing uncontrollable factors. Not sure if that would be a good thing or bad.