Any help for a turtle ponder?!?

sunicda

Turtle Lover
Reaction score
Hello All,

I am a newbie to the world of ponding... I have had my two ponds up and running for the last year. 1 is 50 gallons and the other is 150 gallons pictures attached....

In these ponds live red ear slider turtles... Now I know I am on a koi fish form, but I need help.... I cann't seem to get my ponds to stay clean; algae won't go away!!! I feel like I am fighting a losing battle here... I am currently using pond filters that you can get at lowes/homedepot the box type that has foam media...

This filter is not working!!! So I searched during some research and what I came up with is the skippy filter. I like the idea, but continued during research and found this forum... Once on this forum, I have found that I am not limited to the idea of the skippy filter, but my options are multiple....

So, if you are still reading and bearing with me, my question would be to you guys: what is the best filters (DIY) that you use? What media works the best? Should I mix different media types? I am totally at a loss now....

Thanks in advance for your help.:biggrin:

Summer

Attachments

• IMG_0165.jpg
    IMG_0165.jpg
    153.3 KB · Views: 1,750
Reaction score
Here is what I would suggest for a small Turtle Pond: use a pond filter that can back-wash like the Laguna Pressure Flo 700; use a beneficial bacteria like Green Clean Xtreme biological treatment; and for a pump I would suggest the Laguna Max Flo 600 solids pump. You want back wash the filter once a week for about 40 seconds and then top off with fresh water. I'm going with this type of set up as turtles can be messy. Also, keep in mind that if you add pond plants, that turtles love to eat plants. Oh and I would suggest making a perminate platform in the center of the pond so that your turtles can sun themselves and feel secure at the same time. Sincerely, (e-mail address removed)

koiguy1969

GIGGETY-GIGGETY!!
Reaction score