Any retaining wall ideas for waterfall??

Reaction score
Hello everyone,
I'm getting ready to build the waterfall to the pond. I have never done anything like this before. I have no walls to support the waterfall so I have to find a way of building up a waterfall. I have some river rock that I have collected along the way and maybe I could use those although I dont have that much of it and was thinking of saving it for the actual shaping of the inside of waterfall itself. As you can see I started stacking up the rocks one on top of each other but it will involve mortor/cement to keep them up together from falling over. I was thinking I could build the retaining wall to the waterfall out of those pre-made concrete retaining wall blocks they sell at lowes/home depot. A third idea was to save some money on having to buy a significant amounts of concrete blocks and just rig up a piece of OSB/plywood for the side walls and anchoring them down in place with rebar or something like that. The blocks in the background with the piece of wood is where the stock tank is going to be placed on top. Can anyone give some suggestions at this stage. Is anyone else at this point in their pond maybe can help out. I am very excited to move on and seeing something of a waterfall come together. thnxs

Attachments

• fall1.jpg
    fall1.jpg
    41.2 KB · Views: 1,054

DrCase

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
7a
All 3 of my water falls are made of blocks & mortor
then i face them with rock

koiguy1969

GIGGETY-GIGGETY!!
Reaction score
my waterfall is mounded dirt around my filter and covered in liner and large stone.. plenty of pix in the photography section

Reaction score