Any way to keep a pond liquid in zone 4

Discussion in 'Winterizing Your Pond' started by reeffish, Nov 8, 2018.

  1. reeffish

    reeffish

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello, I am new here, if you could not tell. I want to keep my fish in my pond over the winter. I live in a zone 4 area where things freeze up and by regulations can only have a pond that is 2 feet deep. I have been told that if I keep the water moving, it will not freeze. Does anyone else have any thoughts or is this just an impossible dream?
     
    reeffish, Nov 8, 2018
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. reeffish

    Lisak1

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2013
    Messages:
    6,882
    Likes Received:
    7,719
    Location:
    Northern IL
    So based on your questions, I'm guessing you don't have a pond - you're just planning ahead. I can tell you that here in zone 5 - where things also "freeze up" - lots and lots and lots of people have ponds that are only 2 feet deep. The fish stay in the pond all winter, they keep a hole in the ice (not necessarily running water, but that is one option) and all is well. Keeping the pond "liquid" however - as in no ice cap - is unrealistic.
     
    Lisak1, Nov 8, 2018
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. reeffish

    Tula

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2013
    Messages:
    3,933
    Likes Received:
    3,064
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    Depending on the size of your pond, covering it will greatly help keep it from freezing over.
     
    Tula, Nov 8, 2018
    #3
  4. reeffish

    reeffish

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Actually, I do have a complete pond. I took the fish out and they are in my garage. I want to put them back. I could run and air stone or a water pump facing up all winter. Would that be enough? My concern is that although I may keep a small area open, the majority of the pond would freeze solid and not leave enough room for the fish.
     
    reeffish, Nov 8, 2018
    #4
  5. reeffish

    Lisak1

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2013
    Messages:
    6,882
    Likes Received:
    7,719
    Location:
    Northern IL
    Is this an in ground pond? Can you post one pictures?
     
    Lisak1, Nov 9, 2018
    #5
  6. reeffish

    poconojoe

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2009
    Messages:
    286
    Likes Received:
    206
    Location:
    Mount Pocono, Pennsylvania
    I once had one of those K&H pond de-icers that was way too powerful. It was 1500 watts and it kept a rather large opening in the ice. It was more of a heater than a de-icer! I got rid of it. It was too extreme and drew too much power. They make them in various wattages and they can be used as a floater or converted to be submerged.
    I like the suggestion of covering the pond to keep the heat in. Maybe some type of framework and heavy plastic sheeting to let the sun in for a greenhouse effect. Shaped like an "A" frame or pup tent to keep the snow off.
     
    poconojoe, Nov 9, 2018
    #6
  7. reeffish

    j.w I Love my Goldies

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    24,781
    Likes Received:
    14,598
    Location:
    Arlington, Washington
    upload_2018-11-9_15-24-25.gif @reeffish @callingcolleen1 in Canada keeps her pond running all winter. She puts plastic covers over hers. Take a look at her thread: My pond runs all winter.
     
    j.w, Nov 9, 2018
    #7
    Tara likes this.
  8. reeffish

    MitchM

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2012
    Messages:
    6,803
    Likes Received:
    6,848
    Location:
    Water Valley, Alberta
    What species of fish?
    How many?
    What size pond?
    How exposed is the pond?
    ...etc...
     
    MitchM, Nov 10, 2018
    #8
  9. reeffish

    GBBUDD

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2017
    Messages:
    1,266
    Likes Received:
    1,444
    Location:
    Ct
    Where do you live they have a two foot maximum in the code. somethings not right. I would bet two foot is the maximum where you do not need a fence
     
    GBBUDD, Nov 11, 2018 at 5:47 AM
    #9
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.