Anybody ever use a wet/dry shopvac to to clean pond bottom?

markah1

Pond Newb
Reaction score
Hi,

I'm still fairly new at ponds. During the first month of having my newly constructed pond, I've noticed a tiny amount of waste build-up on the pond floor. Mostly poop, leaves, and soil from the bog plants.

Today, I knocked over some bacopa that was placed on our waterfall and I got a huge mass of soil in the pond. Needless to say, the bacopa i recovered was bare root and all of the soil was on the floor of the pond and the pond turned into a huge puddle of mud. I'm extremely upset with my mistake and I hate how awful the water looks. Once it settles, I imagine that I'll have a ton of soil on the floor that I'll need to remove so I was wondering if anyone here has ever used a wet/dry shopvac to clean sludge from the bottom?

Its a craftsman 5.0 HP, 12 gallon wet/dry vacuum.

Thanks in advance!

Reaction score
The wet dry vacuum is what I use. I use it to clean out my waterfall in the fall and also the skimmer. I have also used it in the pond. I think if you used the floor brush it wouldn't suck as much water so fast. I havent used an attachment yet. It has worked great for me so far.

waynefrcan

19 years ponding and hopefully 4 more!
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
4a
Country
Canada
I have a shopvac that pumps the water out as you fill. It's about $139 US. Not the best pond vac idea as it fills faster then pumps, but does work.

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
I found in the pond it sucked water more than gunk. Went back to netting the bottom instead. It does work great though for cleaning the bottom of the skippy filters once the water is drained and all is left is the muck.

morewater

President, Raccoon Haters International
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
5b
Country
Canada
ShopVacs are basically useless for cleaning ponds, mainly because that's not what they're designed to do.