Ask About Bog Filter

Reaction score
Country
Indonesia
hi all im newbie here, this is my 2nd post,
I have a problem, recently I build a mini bog filter, I planting dwarf papyrus and umbrella palm , they get sunshine pretty well, I thought they pretty hardy and easily adaptable, I dont know if my planting methode is wrong or what
i just wash the root and trim the root, completely remove the dirt from the roots cos I dont want the dirt make my water cloudy, I plant these plant with only gravel, and the water is up to the crown
then after just 2 days I notice some yellowing and dying leafs, what happen guys ? basically I just plant them bare roots with gravel, Am I wrong ? or they just need time to regrow ? what should I do ? trim the leafs or cutting the stems ?
thanks and best regards all

Reaction score
Country
Indonesia
You may be over=trimming the roots and not leaving enough to support the existing foliage.

thanks for the reply sir, then what should I do ? change the whole plant ? or just wait and cut the stems ? can this plant grow again ? I bought like 7 pots of them, then 5 of them dying, but there are some that survive

Meyer Jordan

Tadpole
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
9a
Country
United States
Always trim foliage first and then always leave more root ball than foliage. The roots is where the plants store energy needed to support growth. When the roots are trimmed too much in proportion to the foliage the plant may die.
No need to wash the soil away before planting in a 'bog'. It will not migrate and cloud or foul the water and this insures less transplant shock to the plants.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
13b
why do u cut roots ? theres no need , plants r sensitive if u disturb them they will react this way and wil take time to settle . its natural if u move any plant from one place to another it starts over again if u have disturbed the root position . trim leaves only or stems , no need to uproot