Attempting a pond build for the first time. Need help

Reaction score
Country
United States
I am a complete newbie when it comes to building ponds, well actually, to building anything. I have been doing alot of reading but there is so much to plan and learn. I attached a rough drawing of my plan, yes the pond will be in my front courtyard area however we are having 3 wrought iorn gate going up to keep it secure. I have lots of questions regarding layout and design and I welcome any and all ideas and knowledge you would like to share. I have labor helpers but they too have not built ponds.

1. How much space will I need for my pump, filter and uv light equipment?
2. I would like to have a small self maybe 12" deep to mortor some boulders to hide liner and then go straight down to 4ft, If I have hard ground and not sandy soil do I still need to do a concrete beam around the perimeter.
3. I have only accounted for a 10X8 area in the corner for a water fall, is that realistic ?
4. where can I find help with the plumbing details for bottom drain, skimmer ect...

Attachments

• 2017-03-28 10.30.52.jpg
    2017-03-28 10.30.52.jpg
    130.3 KB · Views: 316

MoonShadows

The Jam Man
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
6a
Country
United States
sgreeting_welcome_team_100-100.gif

Hi Foothill999,

Welcome to our group. I'm a newbie too, but there are a lot of friendly and knowledgeable folks with tons of pond experience who will help you here.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
7b
I'm new and no expert -- but I would say get on YouTube and look up The Pond Digger. His tutorials are SO helpful and very detailed! I learned everything I know on here, from The Pond Digger videos, and from books. You can do it!

Reaction score
the pond will be in my front courtyard area however we are having 3 wrought iorn gate going up to keep it secure.