Barrel, Bog or both

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
I am still learning this whole ponding thing so bear with me. My pond is totally rocked in, I love the natural look. Never put too much thought into filtration… I knew going in I was going to have some algae growth on the rock and accepted that as being natural looking. My first partial summer(Finished built in August) with the pond the stringy/mossy algae moved in right away, My pond is in full sun most of the day. This past season was my first full season with the pond and that same stringy/mossy algae continued. I added a small planter filter, a bunch of plants and barley bail in my skimmer. It was controlled but I still didn’t like the look. This summer I want to beef up my filtration and I have 2 options. I picked up a 55 gallon barrel and I also have a large preformed pond I was thinking about adding above my waterfall as a bog. I really want to keep the natural look of my pond area so I am leaning towards the preform as my bog. Although I can come up with a way to cover the barrel so it’s not so industrial looking. My biggest fear is redoing the upper part of my waterfall bog area and not liking how my water fall looks (I am super picky, obsessed with that natural look). So I am looking for help, advise, inspiration from all you great people on here. Barrel or Bog or both? Can I really ever knock this algae back enough? My pond is around 1400 gallons and I only have 2 fish.

Meyer Jordan

Tadpole
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
9a
Country
United States