Bentonite for small koi pond?

Reaction score
Hello
I am in the process of digging a small (app. 40x30X3 (max depth -average 1')) pond off the deck of my home. The pond will be in clay studded with quartz. Looking at the cost of EPDM liners I'm wondering if Bentonite might be feasible. The problem is that I have never worked with the stuff before, and it seems more common in large agricultural ponds with gentle slopes rather than a classic koi pond. I would prefer to have the natural clay look of the bentonite rather than working to conceal the liner with rock.

Has anyone used this clay before on a small pond with near vertical walls?

Thanks,
JS Kirwin

fishin4cars

True friends just call me Larkin
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8a
If you use it you'll probably rarely ever see your fish, The koi will keep it stirred up. that's why Breeders call them mud ponds because they almost always appear muddy and are almost never clear.

j.w

I Love my Goldies
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
USDA 8a
Country
United States
frogwelcomesign.jpg
JS

Reaction score
I haven't used Bentonite but have had a clay bottom pond, and grew up knowing a lot of clay ponds. I'll just call them mud ponds. The finest Koi are grown in mud ponds, but yeah, never clear.

Straight sides would erode pretty fast, so even if you started with straight sides you wouldn't have them for long. The mud ponds we had were very gradual sides for the most part and they still eroded a bit.

sissy

sissy
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States
have you checked out rubber roofing as that would be cheaper and really the same stuff .It also comes in bigger sizes and you can get it most times from a roofing company cheap if they are overstocked .I got a big piece for 35 dollars because the roofer just had it lying around and he was moving and new owners wanted all the stuff gone .He wanted 25 but he had several pieces and I took it all for 35 dollars

Reaction score