Best use of money...

Reaction score
I had planned on working on my pond over the course of this entire summer, which would allow me to fully enjoy the process and budget my spending, but as soon as I put water into the liner I realized that you really need to put all the pieces in place as close to the same time as possible. So fish, plants, and filters all went in at the same time and this was really expensive and I'm struggling to get back on track. I have saved up enough money to either do a skippy filter or put in UV. My problem is just free floating algae in the water. I feel like adding a UV clarifier would best take care of this. What do you guys think? Once I do one, I can probably do the other later, but I'd just like some advice about which should come first, I don't want to build a skippy now if it's not going to clear up the free floating algae.

ididntdoit99

ididntdoit99
Reaction score
I'm not an expert on uv's, I dont use them, but from what I have read on here, the uv will kill the algae, but it will still be floating in the water, so technically, its not going to "clear up" the algae problem, just stop it from making more of an algae problem. You still need a fine filter to remove it from the water, so I'd go with filtration first.

Reaction score
Ok, that's great to hear. I'm totally fine with only using the skippy if that's the solution to my problem. I just figured most people probably had both, glad I asked.

ididntdoit99

ididntdoit99
Reaction score
skippy, and them maybe a temporary fine filter under the outlet or waterfall if that doesnt clear it up, alot of people will put a milk crate with pillow stuffing or quilt batting under thier waterfall for a temporary fine filter when they have floating algea like that. Again, the UV is really the only way to KILL it, but you can do a pretty good job or removing it with a setup like that.

Reaction score