Big cement pond done PIX

Discussion in 'Pond Construction & Equipment' started by MMMxxxanaxxx, Nov 9, 2009.

  1. MMMxxxanaxxx

    MMMxxxanaxxx Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey whatsup every1? Some of you might remember me, I made a few threads a few months back and have finally finished my project. Here are some pix of the progress. All I need is a filter, can anyone recommend a good one
    I found this one on ebay, do you guys think this is a good choice? Is it big enough for what I'm working with?
    http://cgi.ebay.com/Pond-Pres-Filte...emQQptZLH_DefaultDomain_0?hash=item25563e2e12

    You can see I changed my mind a few times, at one point I had 3 seperate pond shells from home depot that I had cut and epoxyed together and was going to connect with the cement pond with the wall knocked out. I eventually decided to just do concrete. I did all the work myself, first time ever doing concrete. I have it sealed and all is ready for water I just need to get a filter in.

    Any comments or advice appreciated.
    p.s. more pix in my gallery
     

    Attached Files:

    MMMxxxanaxxx, Nov 9, 2009
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. MMMxxxanaxxx

    ctrgojo

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chesapeake, VA
    WOW!!
    that looks awesome, cannot wait to see it full of life:banana:
     
    ctrgojo, Nov 10, 2009
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. MMMxxxanaxxx

    koiguy1969 GIGGETY-GIGGETY!!

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2008
    Messages:
    10,569
    Likes Received:
    6,338
    Location:
    Michigan zone 5b
    Good luck with that!
     
    koiguy1969, Nov 10, 2009
    #3
  4. MMMxxxanaxxx

    DoDad

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,674
    Likes Received:
    359
    Location:
    Pacific NW
    How many gallons will u have?
     
    DoDad, Nov 10, 2009
    #4
  5. MMMxxxanaxxx

    MMMxxxanaxxx Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have no clue how many gallons it is. You can kind of guesstimate the size based on the landscaping bricks around the edge I think. I'm just wondering if anyone has any expierience with this type of filter, or what you guys think I should do about filtration.
     
    MMMxxxanaxxx, Nov 10, 2009
    #5
  6. MMMxxxanaxxx

    MMMxxxanaxxx Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    So, I'm takin it noone on this site knows about filters and what would be a good one for this size pond? This is pretty much the same question I asked before except now i have pics. Can someone please just help me out on the filter tip? I don't want to make one out of a 55gal drum and would rather just buy one like the one i linked to where it is small and easy to conceal. PLZ let me know ...i know SOMEONE knows ....or at least i would hope so LOLOL
    Gracias Amigos :biggrin:
     
    MMMxxxanaxxx, Nov 10, 2009
    #6
  7. MMMxxxanaxxx

    koikeepr

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,817
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Ok, slow down MMM. You need to try very hard to estimate the gallons in the pond before anyone can suggest a filter to you. Since you don't want to build one, we will be happy to suggest one. It's quite hard to answer your question inquiring if this filter is big enough if we don't know the volume of your pond.

    Your pond is irregular shaped, but we'll still be able to help you. Take out a tape measure and go give us the following measurements/info:

    Length from the two farthest points
    Width at the widest spot, the middle spot and the narrowest spot
    Depth at the shallowest part and at the deepest part
    Do you plan on having koi or just goldfish?

    If you can get us all these measurements, we will give you a better idea of gallons. Plus, it's important to know this if you ever need to medicate your fish, add salt, dechlor for your water, determine how many fish you can have, etc. the gallonage is the most important number you need to know about your pond.

    Welcome back to the site!
     
    koikeepr, Nov 10, 2009
    #7
  8. MMMxxxanaxxx

    MMMxxxanaxxx Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    alright. so I went and got some measurments, the new addition (deep part) is a rough circle with a diameter of 10 feet. It is 29" deep thru this whole circle, then there is the ramp that slopes up to 19" which is how deep the shallow end is, the shallow end is 3 feet wide from wall to wall and it curves but is about 10 feet long if it were "straightened out". Hope this makes sense thankyou koikeeper :)
     
    MMMxxxanaxxx, Nov 10, 2009
    #8
  9. MMMxxxanaxxx

    koikeepr

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,817
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    North Carolina
    what is the entire length from end to end if you could straigten it out? Is that 10 feet? You mention the diamater of a circle is 10 feet, too. So, are you saying 20 feet long from end to end when you put everything together?
     
    koikeepr, Nov 10, 2009
    #9
  10. MMMxxxanaxxx

    MMMxxxanaxxx Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    yes sir, 20 feet end to end...and btw, i plan to have koi :)
     
    MMMxxxanaxxx, Nov 10, 2009
    #10
  11. MMMxxxanaxxx

    koiguy1969 GIGGETY-GIGGETY!!

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2008
    Messages:
    10,569
    Likes Received:
    6,338
    Location:
    Michigan zone 5b
    you can always fill it...fill a 5 gallon bucket time how long it takes then fill the pond and time it...when i did mine, it took 40 sec to fill the bucket so that means 7.5 gals a min..2&1/2 hours to fill pond is 150 minutes 150 x 7.5 =1125 +70 gal filter= 1200 gallons .. that wasnt full to the brim but to where i maintain the water line. your bio load is to be considered also on a filter..how many fish are planning on and what kind?
     
    koiguy1969, Nov 10, 2009
    #11
  12. MMMxxxanaxxx

    MMMxxxanaxxx Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    True, that 5 gal bucket thing is a good idea! Should I wait until I get a filter to fill it though? Wont the water get all nasty if its not getting circulated and filtered? I plan to have koi fish and some turtles, not sure on the numbers, but I want a filter that can handle a decent amount of fish. I don't mind going a bit stronger than I need if it will keep it super clean and all. What do you guys reccomend I do next, fill the pond or buy a filter? And if I should buy a filter which one would be a good choice? thnx
     
    MMMxxxanaxxx, Nov 10, 2009
    #12
  13. MMMxxxanaxxx

    koikeepr

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,817
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    North Carolina
    again, if you give me the total length from end to end, I can help you figure out the rough gallonage in order for you to buy a filter. Is it 20 feet across or 10?
     
    koikeepr, Nov 10, 2009
    #13
  14. MMMxxxanaxxx

    koiguy1969 GIGGETY-GIGGETY!!

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2008
    Messages:
    10,569
    Likes Received:
    6,338
    Location:
    Michigan zone 5b
    whether your buying not building there is no such thing as too much filter...just too little!!
     
    koiguy1969, Nov 10, 2009
    #14
  15. MMMxxxanaxxx

    MMMxxxanaxxx Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    The pond is 20 feet long, the deep end is pretty much a circle with a 10 foot diameter and 29 inces deep, the shallow end is 10 feet long, by 3 feet wide, and 19 inches deep. So 10 feet of the pond is shallow and the other 10 feet is deep which makes up a 20 foot total length. Really appreciate the help guys thnk u :)
     
    MMMxxxanaxxx, Nov 10, 2009
    #15
  16. MMMxxxanaxxx

    koikeepr

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,817
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    North Carolina
    okay, koiguy can check my math here, but if your pond is 20 feet long and I'll use 6.5 feet as your average width based on your circles and stuff. Then with your max depth of 2.5 feet and your other area that is 1.7 feet deep, I'll use an average depth of 2.1 feet. I estimate you at around 2,047 gallons/US based on an oval or irregular size.

    So:

    20 x 6.5 x 2.1=273 then multiply by 7.5 to get gallonage=2047.5 gallons

    That would mean that the 4,000 gallon pressure filter would work and would give you more filtration than you will need (to koiguy's point). You also will need a pump that can push push your water volume through that filter 1.5 times per hour for the best case scenario (no less than 2x per hour at worst). That would mean that you should get a pump that can push at least 1,350 gallons per hour.

    I am not sure how much water pressure that filter needs to do the backwashing aspect (you should ask the seller). Sometimes they need a pump with very high GPH to do that properly. The trouble is, if you get a pump that pushes to fast, the water will go through that filter media quickly and may not build a good bacteria base. Ditto for the UV, if the water passes by too quickly, it will not do a good job as water passes past the UV too fast. In that case, you could get a higher pressure pump, but divert some of your water--like over the waterfall, perhaps.

    Also, with that filter, you are able to use hosing from 3/4 inch all the way up to 1.5". If I were you, I would use the biggest hosing you can (in this case 1.5"). You will get much less friction.

    All this being said, I think this filter will work for you if you get the proper pump. Again, that's all without knowing the answer to the backwashing question that you need to ask the vendor.
     
    koikeepr, Nov 10, 2009
    #16
  17. MMMxxxanaxxx

    DrDave Innovator Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    6,836
    Likes Received:
    87
    Location:
    Fallbrook, Ca USA
    This may not be the best thread to post this on, but this subject pops up everywhere.

    I think the amount of bio filter needs to be tied more to the fish load than the overall gallons of the pond. Some people have a lot of fish and others, not so many. The concentration of waste needs to be considered, not just the total volume.
     
    DrDave, Nov 11, 2009
    #17
  18. MMMxxxanaxxx

    koikeepr

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,817
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    North Carolina
    agreed. MMM did not answer that question after I asked it, but 150 inches of fish should be max. I just don't know if he's decided on goldfish versus koi or what.
     
    koikeepr, Nov 11, 2009
    #18
  19. MMMxxxanaxxx

    MMMxxxanaxxx Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    MMMxxxanaxxx, Nov 11, 2009
    #19
  20. MMMxxxanaxxx

    koikeepr

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,817
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Hmmm...I'm not a big fan of using utility/sump type pumps in a pond, but I guess it will work. You can go with either of the filters you've showed us. As koiguy said, you can never have too much filtration. As long as the pump is properly sized to match it, you are fine.

    Also, in reference to my answer above about 150 inches of fish, that should be determined at full growth length--not when you get them and they are 4 inch babies. In other words, a pond of your size, you should not get more than 6 koi (assuming a 24" maturity length). 5 would actually be better.
     
    koikeepr, Nov 11, 2009
    #20
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.